Billeder på siden

lars, which aided by my own observations may gratify curiosity.

The celebrated Julius Cæsar in his Commentaries makes particular mention of Kent, being the theatre of his most renowned actions in Britain. He beftows on it the name of Cantium, so that the revolution of eighteen hundred years has produced no other change than the giving it a more English sound. Camden thinks with great probability, that Kent is so called from Britain here extending into a large corner eastward, and might therefore be derived from the word Canton or Cant which signifies a corner. In this sense the term is still used in the science of Heraldry. The length of this county from east to west is 63 miles, its average breadth 35 miles. Its circumference includes nearly 170 miles. It contains 12,480,000 acres of land, upwards of 40,000 houses, 400 parishes, and 30 considerable towns. Yorkshire, Devonshire, Lincolnshire, Hampshire, and Northumberland, are the only larger counties in Great Britain.

Leaving London for Canterbury, we passed through the Borough, famous for its extent and population, and soon reach Deptford. This is the first place we meet with on the road, and is entitled to attention. Standing on the river Ravensbourne, it is supposed at this part to have had a deep ford, which would have easily passed in to its present name of Deptford. It first began to assume an importance in the reign of Henry VIII. who erect ed a store-house for the Royal Navy. In the dockyard belonging to government about 1000 men are employed. Near this spot is the house where Peter the Great, Czar of Muscovy lived, when he learnt the art of ship-building, which he carried with him to Russia, and by the cultivation of which, the

prosperity of that vast empire was wonderfully advanced:

Immortal Peter! first of monarchs he

Who greatly spurn'd the slothful pomp of courts,
And roaming ev'ry land in every port
His sceptre laid aside-with glorious hand
Unweari'd plying the mechanic tool,
Gather'd the seeds of trade, of useful arts,
Of civil wisdom and of martial skill.


Nor was it far from hence that the remains of the Pelican were deposited, in which Sir Francis Drake circumnavigated the globe! Out of its relics a chair was made and presented to the university of Oxford. This circumstance gave rise to the following lines of Cowley:

To this great ship which round the world has run,
And match'd in race the chariot of the sun!
This Pythagorean ship (for it may claim
Without presumption so deserv'd a name,)
By knowledge once and transformation now
In her new shape this sacred port allow.
Drake and his ship could not have wish'd from fate
An happier station or more bless'd estate,
For lo! a seat of endless rest is given

To her in Oxford-and to him in heaven.

Besides the royal dock yard, are several respectable yards in the vicinity of Deptford; particularly those of Messrs. Randall and Brents, Messrs. Wells, &c. appropriated chiefly to the mercantile interests of Great Britain. In Greenland dock, ship, laden with blubber or the fat of whales, find a safe retreat; and the oil extracted here is considerable. However useful this article may be to mankind, the process of its operation is peculiarly offensive, for it is inpossible to say one word on the deliciousness of its fragrancy.

The Trinity House at Deptford, is a society of. no small utility. It was incorporated by Henry VIII. and its privileges in several successive reigns, have received enlargement. Its province is to take cognizance of sea-marks and erect lighthouses, cleanse the Thames, grant licences to poor seamen not free of the city to row on the river, examine the mathematical children at Christ's hosspital, appoint pilots, and assist in other matters Connected with the maritime department of the country. This corporation is governed by a master, four wardens, eight assistants, and eighteen elder brethren. The Duke of Marlborough, Earl Howe, Lord Bridport, and the Right Hon. William Pitt, are among the honorary members. Every year this company relieves about 3000 poor seamen, widows, and orphans. On Trinity Monday they have a grand procession, from their house on Tower-hill to the hall at Deptford, when they choose a master for the ensuing year. Such an institution ably conducted must prove of essential service to society.

Formerly Deptford had only one church, that of St. Nicholas, a saint whom our Saxon forefathers thought propitious to mariners, merchants, and fishermen. In the year 1730, the new church of St. Paul's was consecrated, one edifice being found insufficient to contain the inhabitants of this populous district. It is an elegant structure, and the ground adjoining to it is filled with head stones, those common memorials of our mortality! Close to it stands an old General-baptist place of worship, which has been recently repaired at a considerable expence, by some worthy individuals belonging to it. It is encircled by a burying ground, where lie the remains of persons of respectability. It contains a neat tomb belonging to the family of T. Hollis, Esq. a name well known in the literary

world. This religious society has the honour of producing the Rev. Dr. John Gale, whose learning and abilities are the subject of admiration with all those who are versed in the researches of Theology. He contended most ably for baptism by immersion administered to adults alone, against Dr. Wall a learned minister of the church of England. Notwithstanding these differences of opinion he was in habits of intimacy with several prelates, and with persons of high stations in society. In the year 1721, and in the 41st of his age, he was suddenly carried off by a fever. Besides his famous controversial writings on baptism, he left behind him four volumes of Sermons, which have been much admired. His memory will be revered for the solidity of his talents, the soundness of his learning, and the ex. tent of his liberality. There is also at Deptford a neat independent meeting, and other places of worship for the dissenters.

A little below Deptford stands Greenwich, formerly distinguished for its royal palace, and now known for its hospital throughout the world. In the reign of Henry V. it was a fishing town. At present it covers a considerable portion of ground, and boasts of a large population. It contains one church of an elegant appearance, built in the course of the last century. In the old palace bloody Mary and prosperous Elizabeth were born; and here the pious Edward VI. breathed his last, to the deep regret of all true protestants. When the royal family resided on this spot-the opposite peninsula now called the Isle of Dogs, took its name from the circumstance that the animals were kept there, with which they took the diversion of hunting. Many places derive their names from circumstances of this kind equally trifling, which have been in after ages consigned to oblivion.

But the Hospital for decayed seamen is a most noble institution and deserving of particular attention. It raises its majestic front close to the river, and to the passing voyager exhibits many traits of sublimity. Charles II. began the superb structure, and George II. finished it. Its chapel is extremely elegant, on the sides are galleries for the officers and their families, whilst beneath are seats for the pensioners, nurses, and boys. Above the altar is an appropriate representation of the Shipwreck of Paul by West, who has exercised his pencil with great success on scriptural subjects. The hall is decorated by some fine paintings, undertaken by Sir James Thornhill in 1708, but not finished till about twenty years after this period. Portraits of the royal founders meet the eye, though the four seasons are the best calculated to produce a pleasing impression. The old man shivering with cold and stretching out his hands towards a scanty pittance of fire is admirably delineated. I recollect the sensations with which it inspired me. For the moment I felt that chillness which the dreariness of winter Occasions when

"It reigns tremendous 'oer the conquer'd year!”

Nor must we forget to mention a series of small pictures in the anti-chamber to the council-room. They represent the loss of the Luxemburgh galley, commanded by Capt. William Kellaway, burnt on her passage in 1727, from Jamaica to London, together with the horrible distresses of part of her crew who escaped in the long boat, and were at sea twelve days without any victuals or a single drop of liquor! Twenty-three were in this boat, Six only survived. Mr. William Boys, one of the six, was afterwards lieutenant-governor of this hospital. It is impossible for a feeling heart not to be interested

« ForrigeFortsæt »